RSS

Came to believe…

01 Mar

…that we were powerless over alcohol and that our lives had become unmanageable.

Alcoholism and addiction are very powerful things. As someone with 5 years of sobriety, I have learned the power my addictions can have over me.

I’d like to share a little bit of wisdom that I have learned over the years. First, there is no shame in admitting you have a problem. I remember the morning I realized I had a problem and it had hit me hard. It left me feeling ashamed and worthless. “What have I become?” was a constant question that plagued me. I had just turned 21, meaning I no longer had to rely on somebody else to supply my addiction. My shame only fueled my habits, and it became a daily ritual of shame, drink, and more shame.

It is okay to ask for help. For years, I had a very hard time asking for help. I liked to bottle everything up and pretend I was okay. I believed myself to be stronger than I really was, but I was only drowning my sorrows and fears with pills and alcohol. Not asking for help before I hit rock bottom landed me in a psychiatric hospital, followed by outpatient rehab.

Remember that you are loved. No matter what you may feel or think inside your head, there is somebody out there who cares.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
